Decatur Utilities, a city-owned and operated utility company, provides service for Decatur. A residential deposit may be required. Please call Customer Service at 256-552-1400 for additional information. Joe Wheeler Electric Membership Co-op also supplies electricity to some outlying areas. New service connection fee is $100 which can be waived with a letter of credit from a previous utility. You may contact the Hartselle Office at 256-301-6090 or the Moulton Office at 256-301-6500.
BellSouth provides services for the Decatur area. For information, refer to the customer guide in the telephone directory or call 256-557-6500.
The Public Works Department provides one garbage cart (once-a-week pickup) for household garbage through the sanitation department. Leaf pick-up programs run from October through February and utilize vacuum trucks at curbside. Boxes, discarded appliances and other debris should be placed next to your garbage cart for collection on the same day. Leaves and limbs are collected once a week and should be placed at the edge of the street or alley. It is illegal to burn trash and leaves within the city limits. Yard waste should be separated because it is recycled separately. For information about yard waste (green matter only) or carts, call the Public Works Department at 256-351-7760.
Curbside recycling is available for duplex and single family dwellings. A private contractor picks up certain recyclable materials including types of glass, plastic and metal containers, newspapers, batteries, magazines, and oil once a week. A special container is provided. There is no curbside recycling for apartment dwellers, but six drop-off sites are located throughout the city. There is no fee. The city also has a recycling program for Christmas trees and telephone directories. For additional information, call the Recycling Department at 256-351-7760.
Sales Tax for Decatur - 9% (4% city, 1% county, 4% state)
Sales Tax for Morgan County - 7% (3% county, 4% state)
Property Tax Millage for Decatur – 0453
Property Tax Millage for Morgan County – 0374
For ad valorem tax information, contact the Revenue Commissioner’s Office at the Morgan County Courthouse from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday or call 256-351-4690.
The Board of Registrars is at the Morgan County Courthouse. Requirements are as follows: 18 years of age or older; U.S. citizen; Proof of naturalization; Social Security number; must not be declared mentally incompetent; must have had civil rights restored if convicted of a felony; must take an oath administered by a registrar. There is no minimum amount of time you must have lived in Morgan County, but you must be registered at least 10 days before an election to vote in that election. For more information, call 256-351-4660.
Upon becoming a resident of Alabama a person 16 years of age or older has 30 days to get an Alabama driver’s license. A written exam and driving test may be required. The exam fee is $5 and the driver’s license fee is $23. A learner’s permit is available for 15-year-olds and is valid only when the learner is accompanied by a parent or driving instructor. Test fee is $5 and the permit fee is $23. I.D. Card fee is $23. The office is in the Morgan County Courthouse and the phone number is 256-351-4666.
Upon moving to the state, a person has 30 days to get an Alabama license tag. When moving within the state, you can keep your current tag until it expires. Two proofs of residency are required. The tags are available at the Commissioner of Licenses office in the Morgan County Courthouse and the phone number is 256-351-4770.
Issued by the Morgan County Judge of Probate whose offices are in the County Courthouse. A person must be 18 years of age or older to get married without parental consent or 14 -17 years of age with parent or guardian’s permission. Marriage licenses are $48. The phone number is 256-351-4675.
Every firm doing business in Decatur is required to have city, county and state business licenses. The city license is obtained through the City Revenue Department. The phone number is 256-341-4546. County and state licenses are obtained at the Morgan County Commissioner of Licenses and the phone number is 256-351-4770.
Hunting, fishing, and boat licenses are issued through the Morgan County Commissioner of Licenses Office, 256-351-4770.
It is unlawful for the owner or person in charge of any dog or puppy to permit it to be off their property unless under the control of a competent person, either by leash, cord, chain, or other physical restraint. It is also unlawful to harbor a vicious dog or animal unless it is securely, but humanely, confined or restrained from biting a person or other animal. Pets found running at large or otherwise considered a threat will be captured and placed in the dog pound for one week. If owners do not claim the pet within that week, it will be sold or humanely destroyed. Check with your veterinarian regarding required inoculations.
Decatur Daily 256-353-4612
Huntsville Times 256-532-4000
Hartselle Inquirer 256-773-6566
ABC Network Huntsville – WAAY (Ch. 31)
CBS Network Huntsville – WHNT (Ch. 19)
Fox Network Huntsville – WZDX (Ch. 54)
NBC Network Huntsville – WAFF (Ch. 48)
PBS Network Birmingham – WBIQ (Ch. 10)
WLRH 89.3 FM Public Radio
WJAB 90.9 FM Jazz
WFIX 91.3 FM Christian Contemporary
WFYD 91.7 FM Religious
WWXQ 92.5 FM Oldies
WHRP 93.3 FM Hip Hop
W234AD 94.7 FM Alternative
WRTT 95.1 FM Rock
WXFL 96.1 FM Country
WRSA 96.9 FM Adult Contemporary
WAHR 99.1 FM Adult Contemporary
WYDE 101.1 FM Talk
WDRM 102.1 FM Country
WEUP 103.1 FM Hip Hop
WZYP 104.3 FM Top 40
WQAH 105.7 FM Country
WTAK 106.1 FM Classic Rock
WQLT 107.3 FM Adult Contemporary